New York Times Institute Class of 2005
By Owner   

If you are an aspiring journalist, you have a unique opportunity in New Orleans to learn about covering an important story right where it's happening.

The 2006 New York Times Student Journalism Institute will be held May 13 through 27 in collaboration with Dillard University.

Student reporters, editors, photographers and designers will have a chance to cover the wide range of issues raised by the devastation of Hurricane Katrina.

Students selected to attend the Institute will have all their expenses paid, including transportation to and from New Orleans, where room and board are provided. The students also receive a $400 stipend.

Participants can expect to spend full days and into the nights, reporting, editing, designing or taking photographs in New Orleans and vicinity. In a dynamic newsroom atmosphere, aspiring journalists see how experienced professionals deal with a range of challenges. Students also learn what is expected at internships and full-time jobs at news organizations.

There will be opportunities for intense discussions with award-winning journalists on everything from the nuts and bolts of the everyday life of journalists to the larger issues of the profession. Students will be exposed to the basic principles of journalism and can concentrate on one or more of five specialties:
Web production

Throughout the two weeks students will maintain a news Website and at the end of the program, a newspaper is published containing the best of the material created at the Institute. Copies are available to serve as clips.

The Institute is limited to 30 students. The following student make up the Class of 2005.

Stacy Alexandra Anderson
Elizabeth Sue Bertrand
Nicholas R. Birdsong
Madia Brown
Terrell Bryant
Tanya Caldwell
LeMont Calloway
Stanley (Shawn) Chollette
Malachi Daraja
Aaron Daye
Jessica De Vault
Markel A. Eskridge
Alexander Marius Ford
Marci Fuller
Joshua Halley
Eba Hamid
Bravetta Hassell
De'Eric Montrail Henry
Linda Hobbs
Ebony Horton
Sheena Johnson
Frenchi Johnson
Titus Ledbetter III
Shaka Sherri Lias
Robbyn Mitchell
Tara-Lynne S. Pixley
Ayesha Rascoe
Rebecca K. Roussell
Diamond M. Washington
Jessica Young

Posted Jan. 20, 2006